Civil Service

Civil Service

Members who work in the Civil Service include: administrative professionals, forest technicians, geologists, child-protection workers, food inspectors, fisheries technicians, accountants, planners, clerks, architects, youth workers, tourism workers, archives and museum staff, correctional officers, fisheries and agricultural technicians, vehicle-compliance officers, and many more. These workers are governed by the Civil Service Collective Bargaining Act. Civil Service workers do not have the right to strike; instead, interest arbitration is used in the event of a bargaining impasse.

Civil Service Master Agreement

  • Local 1 – Cape Breton
  • Local 2 – Pictou County
  • Local 3 – Colchester and East hants Counties
  • Local 4 – Annapolis, Kings and West Hants Counties
  • Local 5 – Lunenburg, Shelburne and Queens Counties
  • Local 6 – HRM, Technical and Services (TS) Workers
  • Local 7 – HRM, Clerical (CL) Workers
  • Local 8 – HRM, Professional (PR) Workers
  • Local 14 – Antigonish and Guysborough Counties
  • Local 16 – Yarmouth and Digby Counties
  • Local 17 – Cumberland County
  • Local 480A – Antigonish Correctional Facility
  • Local 480B – Cumberland Correctional Facility, Amherst
  • Local 480C – Cape Breton Correctional Facility, Sydney
  • Local 480F – Central Nova Scotia Correctional Facility, Dartmouth
  • Local 480I – Southwest Nova Scotia Correctional Facility, Yarmouth

Mileage Rates

Mileage Rates effective April 1, 2014

Civil Service Classification Appeals

Nova Scotia PSC Employee Centre Benefits website

Nova Scotia PSC Employee Health & Dental Plan Booklet (pdf format)