The NSGEU employs more than 50 professional staff who work on your behalf to improve the terms and conditions of your employment in areas such as wages, hours of work and overtime, illness and disability provisions, health and insurance benefits, pensions, occupational health and safety, and employment security.

The staff of NSGEU takes great pride representing your interests. Many of them are former NSGEU members and understand first-hand the issues you face in your workplaces.

If you are interested in working for the NSGEU, check our website regularly for job opportunities with us.

NSGEU Management

NSGEU President
Joan Jessome

Executive Director
Keiren Tompkins

Director of Negotiations & Servicing – Government & Education
Robin MacLean

Director of Negotiations & Servicing – Health Care
Shawn Fuller

Director of Administration & Financial Services
Bruce Thomson

Servicing Coordinators

Art Beaver – Government & Education
Ian Johnson – Communications
Grant Vaughan – Healthcare Acute & Community

NSGEU Employee Relations Officers (EROs)

Under the leadership of the Executive Director, the Director of Negotiations and Servicing, and Servicing Coordinators, NSGEU EROs provide direct assistance and support to each of the union’s locals.

EROs serve as locals’ chief negotiators during bargaining. They help enforce the provisions of local’s collective agreements through consultation, negotiation, mediation and, when those tactics fail, formal grievance. During grievance proceedings, EROs help members through the arbitration/adjudication procedures, sometimes with the assistance of expert legal advice.

Each ERO is assigned to one or more locals. These assignments change from time to time.

Click here for an up-to-date list of EROs and the locals to which they are assigned.

Jo-Ann Bailey
Gina Boyd
Tony Bremner
Paul Cormier, CRSP (Occupational Health & Safety Officer)
Mike Conrad
John Cook
Rose Marie DeVillers
Jim Gosse
Lynette Johnson
Elizabeth Kanyikwa
David Lawrence
Corry MacKinnon (Term)
Odette MacLeod
Donnie MacNeil
Bill McKiggan
Nicole McKim
Dave Moore
Lori Smith (Organizing Officer)
Tina Webber

Bully Free, Communications, Education, Pensions & Benefits, Policy and Research

NSGEU also has specialized staff in Communications, Education, Pensions & Benefits, Research, and Policy.

Bully Free Coordinator
Susan Coldwell

Communications Officers
Deedee Slye
Holly Fraughton

Education Officer
Margaret Anne McHugh

Pension & Benefits Officer
Corinne Carey

Information Analyst
Dave Mackenzie

Financial, Administrative, IT, Support and LRC staff

Secretarial Staff

Lisa Bouchard, Executive Secretary to the President
Tessa Crawley
Jackie Creemer
Rhonda Duhme
Angela Fitzgerald
Darlene Fleet, Executive Secretary to the Executive Director
Zita Hildebrandt
Linda Keizer
Dawn Lohnes (temporary staff)
Leslie Long
Kathy Mason
Sarah Tamlyn
Vicki Walsh

Communications Assistant
Shannon MacIntyre

General Office/Mailroom
Wayne Butler
Rollins Hardwick

Mailroom Clerk
Ethel Marshall

Office Systems Coordinator
Diane Briggs

Julie MacDougall

Accounting Clerk
Bernadette Boyd

Membership Records Clerk
Janet Baker
Donny Crowell
Keith MacKinnon

NSGEU Labour Resource Centre staff
Paula Cuvelier (Temporary Staff)
Joyce Desplanque
Stephanie Howell
Deanna Murray
Susan Sutherland (Temporary Staff)