Executive Officers

NSGEU Provincial Executive Committee

The Provincial Executive Committee is made up of five members elected by voting delegates during Triennial Convention. Positions are: President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Third Vice President, and Secretary/Treasurer.

Under the direction and guidance of the Board of Directors, the Provincial Executive Committee oversees the union’s day-to-day operations, following the strategies and priorities decided upon by the delegates at Triennial Convention.

Any voting delegate to Triennial Convention is entitled to seek nomination for any of the Provincial Executive Committee positions.

The Provincial Executive Committee elected during the NSGEU Convention 2013 is:

Joan Jessome
Joan is a Public Health Secretary (Local 246). She is NSGEU’s first female president, and is now serving her eighth term. The president is the only full-time elected officer of the union and is its chief executive officer.

Darren McPhee
Darren is a Community Care Worker with the Department of Community Services (Local 8). Darren is now in his sixth term as Secretary-Treasurer.

1st Vice President
Jason MacLean
Jason is a Correctional Officer at the Cape Breton Correctional Facility in Sydney (Local 480C). This is his third term as 1st VP.

2nd Vice President
Kelly Murphy
Kelly is a Residential Support Worker at Metro Community Living (Local 63A). This is her first term on the Executive Committee.

3rd Vice President
Dustin Rioux
Dustin is a Deputy Sheriff with the Department of Justice in Truro (Local 3). This is his first term on the Executive Committee.